All students must pass the grade 10 MCAS test in English Language Arts (ELA), Mathematics and one of the four high school Science and Technology tests in order to be eligible for a high school diploma (in addition to fulfilling local graduation requirements).

MCAS Test Dates for 2017-2018

Grade 9
Science.....................June 6-7, 2018

Grade 10
ELA..........................March 27-29, 2018
Mathematics.............May 23-24, 2018

Grade 10 - Retesting
ELA..........................November 8-9, 14, 2017
Mathematics.............November 15-16, 2017
Biology.....................February 5-6, 2018
ELA..........................February 28, March 1-2, 2018
Mathematics............March 5-6, 2018
The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship provides a tuition waiver at a Massachusetts state college or university. The scholarship covers tuition only; fees and room and board are not included. Massachusetts public high school students become eligible for the scholarship when they:
  • score at the Advanced and Proficient levels on grade 10 MCAS tests in English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics. (A student must earn a score of Advanced on the ELA or Mathematics test and a score of Proficient or higher on the other test); AND
  • have combined scores from the MCAS ELA and Mathematics tests that place them in the top 25 percent of students in the graduating class in their district (in regard to MCAS scores, not GPA).
  • Students will be notified in October of their senior year if they have received this award.  There is no application required.

Beginning with the class of 2016, a student's score on a high school Science and Technology/Engineering (STE) test is being added to the eligibility criteria for the Adams Scholarship. Therefore, the score for a grade 9 student who takes an STE test in 2013 will count toward his or her scholarship eligibility.
Starting with the class of 2016, to qualify for the scholarship a student must
  • score at the Advanced performance level on one of the three high school MCAS tests in ELA, Mathematics, or STE (Biology, Chemistry, Introductory Physics, or Technology/Engineering); AND
  • score at the Proficient level or higher on the other two high school MCAS tests; AND
  • have combined scores from the three tests that place them in the top 25 percent of students in the graduating class in their district.

The Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery with Distinction waives tuition at Massachusetts public colleges and universities. To be eligible to apply for a Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery Award, a student must:
  • Must be currently enrolled in a Massachusetts public high school. (Students who have graduated high school are not eligible to apply)
  • Be a permanent Massachusetts resident.
  • Be a United States citizen or eligible noncitizen.
    (In order to use the tuition waiver portion of the Certificate, students must be eligible to file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA))
Initial qualification for the Certificate of Mastery, requires that a student score "Advanced" on at least one grade 10 MCAS test subject, and score "Proficient" on the remaining sections of the grade 10 MCAS. To Receive the Certificate of Mastery, students must fulfill additional requirements through one of the following combinations covering both arts/humanities and mathematics/science:
  • 2 AP exams with scores of 3 or better;
  • 2 SAT II exams (Minimum score dependent upon subject area. Scores are listed on the Koplik application Download PDF Document  Download MS WORD Document);
  • 1 SAT II exam and 1 AP exam; or
  • 1 SAT II exam and 1 other achievement; or
  • 1 AP exam and 1 other achievement.
Students are required to meet or exceed the Needs Improvement threshold scaled score of 240 on both the English Language Arts and the Mathematics MCAS grade 10 tests in order to satisfy the requirements of the Competency Determination. If a student does not meet this requirement he/she will be placed on an Educational Proficiency Plan. For more information please click the link above.